British India Coins

Coinage under the British can be divided into two periods: East India Company (EIC) issues, pre-1835; and Imperial issues struck under direct authority of the crown. The EIC issues can be further subdivided into two subcategories: the Presidency issues, which comprise separate Madras Presidency, Bombay Presidency, and Bengal Presidency issues; and uniform coinage for all British territories from 1835 to 1858. Imperial issues bear obverse portraits of Queen Victoria (dated 1862–1901),^[4] Edward VII (dated 1903–1910), George V (dated 1911– 1936), and George VI (dated 1938–1947). No British India coins were issued during the brief reign of Edward VIII.